# **GENERAL LICENSING COMMITTEE 7/06/21**

### Attendance:

**Councillors:** Steve Collings, Annwen Hughes, Elin W Jones, Gareth Morris Jones, Eryl Jones-Williams, Dafydd Owen, Edgar Owen, Roy Owen, Angela Russell, Elfed Williams and Gareth Williams

### Officers:

Geraint Brython Edwards (Solicitor), Gareth Jones (Assistant Head – Environment), Gwenan Mai Roberts (Licensing Manager) and Lowri Haf Evans (Democracy Services Officer)

### 1. ELECT CHAIR

### RESOLVED TO ELECT COUNCILLOR ANNWEN HUGHES AS CHAIR FOR 2021/22

Councillor Elfed Williams was thanked for his work as Chair of the Committee over the past two years, and also for his support to the Licensing Sub-committees.

#### 2. ELECT VICE CHAIR

# RESOLVED TO ELECT COUNCILLOR EDGAR OWEN AS VICE-CHAIR FOR 2021/2022

## 3. APOLOGIES

Apologies were received from Councillor John Brynmor Hughes and Councillor Jason W Parry

## 4. DECLARATION OF PERSONAL INTEREST

No declarations of personal interest were received from any members present.

## 5. URGENT ITEMS

- An application had been received from the Local Licensing Authority to adopt Section 2 and Schedule 3 of the Local Government (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 1982 following an application to open a Sex Shop in Barmouth. The Council would need to consider adopting the right to consider the application, ensuring there were fit-for-purpose regulatory arrangements in place. The officer reiterated the need to conduct an extraordinary meeting of the General Licensing Committee in order to receive the Committee's approval to begin a statutory consultation on the matter.
- Attention was drawn to a Individual Member's seat that had been vacant for

some time now on the Committee's Membership list. It was suggested that the matter be referred to the Business Group

## 6. MINUTES

The Chair signed the minutes of the meeting of the committee held on 15 March 2021 as a true record.

## 7. GENERAL LICENSING SUB-COMMITTEE MINUTES

Accepted, for information, the minutes of the Sub-committee held on 2 March 2021.

The meeting commenced at 10.25 am and concluded at 10.30 am
CHAIRMAN